Thursday, 5 March 2009

Stakeholders Consultation on Developing the Advocacy and Resource Mobilisation Strategy for FARA and its Secretariat

FARA Secretariat, Accra, Ghana. 5-6 March 2009. The meeting was organized to discuss the objectives and outcomes of Advocacy and Resource Mobilisation for CAADP Pillar IV, focusing on the contributions Network Support Function 1 of the FARA Secretariat can make to achieving Pillar IV objectives.

The consultation facilitated discussions among FARA constituents to define their advocacy and resource mobilisation requirements and propose activities that will address two key objectives which are:
  • Reformed African agricultural institutions and services; and
  • A new financing framework for African Agriculture that promotes a research system that is efficient, effective and has high potential for rapid and widespread impact on agricultural productivity.

Participants (FARA Secretariat & Facilitators excluded):

H.E. Dr. Alieu Jeng, Resident Representative, AfDB Ghana Country Offic

Dr. Ibrahima Diallo, AU Representative, The League of Arab States Secretariat, Egypt

Mr. Julius Mathende, Agricultural Inputs Trade Specialist, COMESA Secretariat, Zambia
Dr. Remileku Rackey Cole, Special Technical Advisor to Executive Director, CORAF/WECARD, Senegal
Dr. David Keetch, Director, AfricaBio, South Africa

Mr. Jiadiais Kamga Jean-Rostand, Director for Finance and Administration, CORAF/WECARD, Senegal

Dr. Mahama Ouedraogo, Acting Director of AU/SAFGRAD, Burkina Faso

Dr. Andre Bationo, Director, Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (for West Africa), Ghana
Dr. Patrick H.R.Tawonezvi, SADC MAPP Coordinator, SADC-FANR Secretariat, Botswana
Prof. Dr. Ayman Abou Hadid, President, ARC-Egypt

Dr. Alsacia Atanasio, Director General, National Research Fund, Ministry of Science and Technology, Mozambique
Dr. Komla Bissi, Senior Agribusiness Advisor, NEPAD Secretariat, South Africa
Dr. Joseph Methu, Head of Partnership and Capacity Development, ASARECA, Uganda

Mr. Rotimi Nihinlola, Group Head of Microfinance and International Organisation, Ecobank, Ghana

Hon. Janguo Minshehe Athuman Saidi, Chairman, Committee on Rural Economy, Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environment, Pan-African Parliament, Tanzania